The Haapsalu Shawl

The Haapsalu Shawl is a traditional Estonian shawl that is extremely fine knitted although the yarn is 100% wool (extra fine).  It is so light and lacy that can be pulled through a finger ring. Haapsalu shawl consists three parts: a center section, a border and an edge which is knitted separately and sewn to the main part.

I finished my last shawls last month, but just this week I made my husband to make some photos of these (with me 🙂 ).

There are two of those – black and white. Both knitted according to traditional Haapsalu shawls.

As I couldn’t choose 1-2 photos, I present all of these:

“Sofia”, black, size: 180 x 75 cm, 100% Merino wool yarn, extra fine


and

“White Silvia”, white, size: 180 x 75 cm, 100% Merino wool yarn, extra fine

They are soft, elegant, warm and lacy.

Leave a Reply

